Voter Updates & Voter Adjudication
Voter Updates
During an election, it may be necessary to update voters and/or their information. The update can be for an individual voter or be done for several voters via a bulk voter updater.
To read more about how you can update voters, see the section on the voter updater.
Important to know about voter updates during an election:
Updating a voter’s weight does not impact votes that have already been cast. The voter with a new weight will have to recast their vote for the change to be successfully implemented.
Voter Adjudication
1. What is Voter Adjudication
Voter adjudication refers to the process of changing the status of a submitted vote. In Electa, this typically occurs when a user disables a voter. When a voter is adjudicated, any submitted vote by that voter may be affected depending on the action taken.
2. What does it mean for a vote to be adjudicated
When a vote is adjudicated, its status is changed. This means that the vote is canceled and therefore no longer considered for the final result. This cancellation does not alter previously generated results, but it does impact any voting rounds that are currently running or have not yet produced a result.
In some cases, the adjudication is irreversible, especially if the voter’s group has changed or the voter has been deleted.
3. How can a vote be adjudicated
A vote can be adjudicated in several ways:
Disabling a vote: If an individual voter’s “Enabled” status is changed to “Disabled” (either manually or via the voter updater), any submitted vote by that voter will be canceled.
Note that the system does not provide messages or alerts for canceled votes in this situation.
If the voter’s group has changed in the meantime, the vote is irreversibly canceled.
Changing a voter’s group: If a voter’s group is changed (either manually or via bulk update), the submitted vote is canceled. Different warning messages will appear when this is done:
Manually changing a voter’s group
Bulk update of a voter’s group
Deleting a voter: If a voter is deleted from the voter list, any submitted vote is irreversibly canceled.
Changing a contest option to unselectable: When a voting round already has votes and an option in a contest is changed to unselectable, all votes that included that option in that contest are adjudicated (canceled).
If a voter selected the now-unselectable option along with another option in the same contest, the entire vote for that contest is canceled.
If the round includes multiple contests, the vote remains valid for the other contests unaffected by this change.
Cases in which the submitted votes do not suffer any changes
The following actions do not affect submitted votes:
Changing a voter’s name either manually or by bulk update.
Changing a voter’s election code either manually or by bulk update.
Changing a voter’s email address either manually or by bulk update.
Changing a voter’s mobile number either manually or by bulk update.
Changing a voter’s weight either manually or by bulk update.*
Changing a voter’s segment either manually or by bulk update.*
Changing the voter group's subscription.
*Please note that if a voter’s weight or segment is updated, the change does not apply to votes already cast. The voter must vote again for the update to take effect. For example, if their weight is updated, the original vote remains tied to the previous weight.